Late last month, the Massachusetts senate passed a sweeping criminal justice reform bill. The House has now followed with its version. In order for criminal justice reform to become law, the two halves of the legislature will have to agree on a final version, pass it, and send it to Governor Baker for his signature.
Drunk driving charges of any kind are serious, and Massachusetts drivers accused of operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol could face serious penalties if convicted. However, there are certain factors that could make the stakes even higher, increasing the penalties associated with your OUI, specifically the length of the license suspension.
Being convicted of OUI in Massachusetts can really cost you. Even a first-time OUI can mean jail time, a minimum fine of $500, the loss of your driver's license for a year, a permanent police record and more. The penalties are higher for those under 21, if you refuse the breath test, or if you are found guilty of OUI more than once.
Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker has proposed a new penalty for drug dealers when the substances they sell end in the user's death. Currently, there is no state statute specifically touching on the issue. The proposed new law would require a mandatory-minimum sentence of five years and a possible penalty of life imprisonment for drug distribution causing death.
A federal appellate court has struck down a lower court's order for lifetime supervised release in a case where the defendants' sentences were shortened by an earlier appeal. The Second Circuit Court of Appeals ruled that the federal supervised release program is not to be used punitively against defendants.
People who are charged with driving under the influence in Massachusetts face severe penalties. If the offense is a second or subsequent one, the penalties increase as well. Those who are convicted of an intoxicated driving offense may expect significant fines, possible incarceration and mandatory treatment.
Massachusetts drivers may be shocked to learn that a 29-year-old woman was taken into police custody and was charged with drunk driving on the morning of April 12. According to authorities, an officer conducted a traffic stop on the Connecticut woman's vehicle on Depot Street in Easton at approximately 12:36 a.m.
Police say that a 46-year-old woman was taken into custody after she tried to rob the Leominster Credit Union in Worcester on Dec. 26. According to authorities, the woman demanded in a note that a female teller put an undisclosed amount of money inside of a bag. Witnesses say that the woman, a resident of Worcester, yelled at the teller while gathering the funds.
Police in Massachusetts say that a 36-year-old man who drove his Jeep into a TGI Friday's on Dec. 17 was under the influence. However, the man refused to take a Breathalyzer test following the accident.
When a person has been convicted of drunk driving or has had their license suspended as a result of driving with a blood alcohol concentration greater than .08 percent, Massachusetts law mandates they must have an ignition interlock device installed in order to get their driving privileges reinstated. A separate certified device must additionally be installed on every vehicle the person owns, leases or operates.