Handling Underage Drinking And Driving Cases
The Commonwealth of Massachusetts has enacted strict laws to prevent underage drinkers from driving. Because of the severity of the penalties, it is critical to have experienced and knowledgeable representation. At the Worcester law office of Anthony M. Salerno, P.C., our attorney defends young people against underage OUI charges. A state trooper for 10 years and a criminal defense lawyer for 25 years, he has been involved in numerous OUI cases, including underage OUI matters. He knows the long-term consequences of a youthful conviction and fights hard for his clients.
Underage OUI Penalties
If you are under age 21 and are determined to have been driving with a blood alcohol content of .02 percent, your license will be suspended for at least 30 days. If you refuse to take the breath test, your license can be suspended for three years and you will have to attend required alcohol counseling. Depending on the circumstances, you could be sentenced to jail and pay a stiff fine. You could have a police record. Because of the severity of the penalties for underage drinking and driving, it is critical to have knowledgeable and caring representation if you or your child are charged with underage OUI.
Investigating The Case
Our lawyer will investigate the facts of your case, making sure that the police had probable cause to stop your car and followed proper procedures when administering the Miranda warning, the implied consent warning and the field sobriety and breath tests. We find the weaknesses in the prosecution’s case.
What If I Am Convicted Of Underage OUI?
Our attorney will fight for you, seeking a continuance without a finding (CWOF) that can help you keep an OUI conviction off your record. We will seek probation as an alternative to jail time. We will seek to reduce or dismiss associated charges such as violating the Massachusetts open container law or operating a vehicle to endanger.