Motorists who face charges of driving under the influence in Massachusetts are subject to significant legal penalties. Before going to court, understanding the possible consequences can inform the person’s next steps.
These are the established DUI penalties for Massachusetts drivers.
The license suspension period for Massachusetts DUI is one year for the first offense. The driver will lose his or her license for two years for a second offense and eight years for a third offense.
Fines for a first-time DUI in Massachusetts range from $500 to $5,000 for a first offense. The second offense carries fines of $600 to $10,000, while a third offense can result in at least $1,000 and up to $15,000 in fines.
Many first-time and second-time DUI offenders can qualify for probation, which requires drug and alcohol treatment if indicated, driver alcohol education, and community service. After successful completion of these requirements, the person’s charges will be dismissed. Second-time DUI offenders must complete at least two weeks of inpatient treatment before receiving probation eligibility.
With no previous DUI offenses, a convicted person could receive up to 30 months in prison. A second offense carries a minimum of 60 days in jail and a maximum of 30 months. For a third offense, the minimum sentence starts at 180 days and the maximum is five years depending on the circumstances of the case.
Some DUI offenses result in elevated penalties. Examples include receiving a DUI with a minor passenger and refusing a breath test.